Facebook Twitter Google Plus
find jobs while travelling

Canada Working Holiday Visa Scheme

This visa has been created to allow young travellers from Canada to travel around New Zealand while being able to find casual work to supplement their costs. If you are a citizen of Canada you can apply for this visa as long as you meet all the outlined conditions. For the latest information on this visa visit NZ Immigration.





12-23 months 18-35 years unlimited per year

With this visa you can:

  • Choose to apply for a 12 or 23-month visa.
  • Work in New Zealand for up to 23 months, depending on the length of the visa you apply for.
  • Study or train for up to 6 months in total.

Points to note for this scheme:

  • You can only apply for a Working Holiday Visa online.
  • You can’t accept a permanent job.
  • If you choose a 12-month visa and decide you want to stay longer, you can apply for the balance of the 23-month period. You’ll need to be in New Zealand, continue to meet the visa requirements, and use a paper form to apply.
  • You can’t bring children with you on a working holiday. If you have a partner who wants to come to New Zealand, they’ll need to apply for their own visa.

General visa conditions:

  • Your passport's expiry date must be at least 3 months after you have left New Zealand.
  • Must meet the requirements for health
  • Must meet the requirements for good character.
  • You must prove you have onward travel reservations (typically a return flight) or show you have sufficient funds to buy a ticket for departure.
  • You must show you have sufficient funds to support yourself
  • You cannot have previously held a working holiday visa for New Zealand
This scheme is open


You can also view the Working Holiday Visa Scheme details for the following countries:
Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Republic of Korea (South), Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay and Vietnam.