Facebook Twitter Google Plus
backpackerboard
looking for work while backpacking?

Applications for this job are closed

To find alternative jobs please browse through our job listings

Mother’s Help – Near Queenstown

Payment: Accommodation & Paid ($17 per hour)
Location: Cromwell
Region: Otago/Queenstown/Wanaka
Experience: Experience Necessary

*Single or couple (partner would need to find alternative employment or could be employed by our landscape company if they have previous landscaping or construction/building experience).

Located in Cromwell (50 mins from Queenstown), we are looking for someone to be our Mother’s Help from now until ideally the end of January (includes two weeks off over Christmas holiday period).  Minimum stay would be until Christmas.  With three young girls aged 9, 6 and almost 3 years, we need an extra pair of hands to help with child care, family meal preparation, pick-ups/drop offs, light housework and general errands for 20-25 hours per week.  This would generally be Monday to Friday although weekends may be required occassionally.  Opportunity to find other part-time work available.

You will need to be a capable cook (non-vegetarian meals) and be comfortable being in sole charge of the children.  A drivers license is essential as pick-ups/drops-off will be required (prefer someone with experience driving on the left side of the road). A car (automatic) is provided for this purpose which is also available for exploring the area in your own time.  Excellent initiative will be required for assisting in general running of the household, eg cleaning, laundry, tidying.  A good standard of English is required and the ability to relate well to young children and organise activities for them - experience in the care of children is preferred.

We are able to accommodate one or two people on a live-in basis.  The accommodation is by way of your own caravan (far more peaceful than living in!) which is located at our home.

We operate a landscaping company in the Queenstown region and a plant nursery in Cromwell.  Due to the level of responsibility required, this positon would likely suit someone 23+years who is independant and has previously lived away from home.  

So if you enjoy children, have plenty of initiative with a great work ethic and like a busy (and I mean very busy), vibrant environment then we’d love to hear from you!  Please provide a CV and references.