Facebook Twitter Google Plus
backpackerboard
find jobs while travelling

Applications for this job are closed

To find alternative jobs please browse through our job listings

Urgent - Animal Care - Projects - Cleaning

Payment: Accommodation & Paid ($20/hr + accommodation options)
Location: Kaikoura town
Region: Christchurch & Canterbury
Experience: Limited Experience Necessary
Listing Added: 11/07/2019

How about joining my small team to work with animals (and generally help out) on a small 5-acre lifestyle block farm in Kaikoura, North Canterbury = on New Zealand’s South Island?

Positions coming up:
1 person= to start now, or as soon as you can get to Kaikoura

Hi, my name is Kevin. I am from the UK, and have lived in NZ for ten years. I have about forty FARM ANIMALS; go off-site LLAMA TREKKING; and have six on-site RENTAL PROPERTIES.

My aim is to constantly move toward more organics and increased self-sufficiency =  already producing a small range of meat, fruit and vegetables. I am finding progress hard and often too expensive, but (with your help) I do the best I can! At various times of the year I make jams, chutney’s, and about 200 bottles of wine (beer is next on the list to have a go at)

CURRENT HIGHLIGHTS = five Kune Kune piglets born 30 Sept. Banana wine on the go. Just upgraded ($16K project) two of your bedrooms and your common room. Raking up autumn leaves!

Here is a summery of the range of tasks you will be helping with:
    1. ANIMAL HELPER ~ There are 30+ animals (llamas, alpaca, pigs, deer, sheep, chickens, turkey, collie dog, etc.) You will get involved in their welfare, feeding, mucking out (removing poo from) their fields and cages, etc.
    2. CUSTOMER CARE ~ help guests staying and llama trekking customers enjoy visiting my 30+ Farm Animals
    3. PROJECT WORK ~ various projects and site maintenance come up throughout the year & seasonally, including: painting, electrical, fencing, digging, carpentry, chopping wood, animal cage repairs, …
    4. GARDENING HELP ~ the vegetable area needs looking after and planting at certain times of the year. The garden needs weeding, grass & hedge cutting, etc.
    5. PROPERTY CLEANING ~ (I employ a supervisor/cleaner) ~ you will help her clean and perform various laundry tasks, following guest check-out.
    6. DOMESTIC HELP ~ help keep the main house and your facilities clean and tidy, cook meals for everyone, bake cakes, etc.
    7. GUEST CHECK-IN’s ~ we all share check-in duties.

You will help with a range of the above tasks, depending on the time of day, time of year, the weather, and what needs doing. You will spend about one-third of your time helping animals and guests; one-third on projects & maintenance, and one-third cleaning and laundry.

Your on-site accommodation includes: All meals (7 days/week), laundry, private bedroom (two double rooms and a single-bed shepherd hut), your own staff bathroom and kitchen = all in separate buildings from the main farm house. You all share your own lounge / common room, which is split into two areas:
>> a cinema space with sofa, 4K x 58” TV, satellite freeview, Blu-Ray player, five-speaker surround system, plus I have 700+ DVD’s and Blu-Ray’s you can borrow.
>> a casual bean bag and relaxing chair area.

Socially = we occasionally have board-game nights, movie & popcorn nights, have a massage table, yoga mats, summertime barbecues, go into town for quiz nights, etc. – it is up to you what you help create and join in with!

There is free wireless wi-fi broadband / internet and a spare computer. There are some bicycles you can use to get into town, or tour around the sights (it is a flat 4km ride! - although I go into town often and can give you a lift).
NB: It is not an option to stay on-site in a car / campervan, or elsewhere in Kaikoura – I need you on-site to help at various times of the day, and available at short notice.

Clothing – there are loads of farm clothing you can use, including warm socks, coats and gum boots (wellies!) So please do not buy anything to come and stay here!

Your salary is $20 per hour (including 8% holiday pay supplement). The work is 7 hours/day, 6 days/week) + one day off per week. Net income is $158 per person, per week, once an accommodation charge (for all the above) and income tax is deducted.

The minimum stay is a month - some have stayed more than six months – (all being well) the longer the better, from my point of view.

Those here decide when to leave, which means I only get about a week’s notice (so please do not apply any more than two weeks in advance). Positions coming up are listed at the top of this!

You must have some previous animal, pet or farm experience, and hopefully you have experienced outdoor work or enjoy some outdoor hobbies. I also look for experience using farm, garden, and DIY tools? Most of the work is fairly easy, often loads of fun. A brilliant chance for you to learn more about working on a small farm, in the outdoors, with accommodation and animal care. Some daily tasks are physical, so you will need at least average fitness. You will be meeting and greeting my guests, so your spoken English must be very good, and you must have a presentable appearance.

Because my needs (and your travel plans & dates) usually change, I tend to book you in, only a few days or up to a couple of weeks in advance. I do not book helpers in until you are in NZ. I am not able to sponsor workers to come from abroad. You must have (at least) a NZ working holiday visa, or be an Australian or NZ resident/citizen. I am very uncomfortable having you travel a long distance to come here, so you must already be in Wellington, or on the South Island. FYI: We are 2.5 hours from Christchurch, 2 hours from Blenheim, and 2.5 hours from Picton (in Marlborough).

The farm is just 4km from Kaikoura town centre. (do not worry if you have not got transport, I will pick you up in town!) 

If you are interested, or you have some questions, please send me a message, including: your PHONE NUMBER; some interesting details about yourself (help me to select YOU); your pet, animal, farm or relevant experience; where you are now; your nationality; male/female(!); travel dates; C.V. (resume), etc. Please confirm you have a NZ working visa, or similar? Hopefully you already have an IRD number?

Please do not telephone; I prefer to read about you first - thanks!

Related Jobs

Kiwifruit Orchard Workers in Te Puke, Rotorua & Bay of Plenty
Kiwifruit Flower Thinning in Te Puke, Katikati, Rotorua & Bay of Plenty
Bagging Labourer in Ashburton Area, Canterbury
Relief Milker - Ashburton in Ashburton, Canterbury
Orchard Worker in Te Puke, Katikati, Tauranga, Rotorua & Bay of Plenty