Support Person Required Central Wellington

apply now
Payment: $25 per hr before tax Location: Mt Cook, Wellington
Region: Wellington Experience: No Experience Necessary

Hi there :)


I am 49, a senior IT specialist and I'm told that I have a good sense of humour…. well usually!!


(Please note: For all those who only read the first line, this is not a job in IT, nor is it a helpdesk position)


I have a physical disability, cerebral palsy, and because of this I need the assistance of Open minded, Intelligent & Caring people to assist me with my day to day business of Living Life, working, keeping my home Zen, going out, socialising & chilling at home.


PERSONAL CARE REQUIRED - Assisting me in the toilet, shower, dressing etc - all not difficult and nothing that you would not do for yourself during the day - but an essential part of the job.


No experience necessary. You do not need any special skills/training - merely a willingness to listen and try your best.


Other aspects of the job include assisting me with housework, household administration, shopping and generally ensuring that things run smoothly.


The work is organised in shifts:


Mon - Fri:
730am - 1030am
1230pm - 230pm
530pm - I'm set up for the night (earliest finish after 11pm)

Sat - Sun:
11am - 4pm
530pm - I'm set up for the night (earliest finish after 11pm)


Due to personal requirements shift start times are not often flexible but the number of shifts you do is flexible - these can fit around classes, other jobs, etc.


These shifts are organised based on my limited support funding and my personal needs. Not included in the above are extra shifts that I may need to do in a week - socialising, shopping, etc.


Whilst I try my best to keep within the shift hours out of respect for your own life there are times were I do need you to work longer. Evening shifts always go longer than 11pm, the "finish time". I always really appreciate all of your flexible with your time – it makes a huge positive difference!!!


Travellers who are here only a short time are very welcome … as are locals who may want a more permanent job.


I generally employ 3 or 4 people at any one time depending on how much people want to work as well as how well we get on.


I work out the weekly roster every Sunday - so there is flexibility from week to week when you work.


There is no driving required and I live in Mount Cook - very close to Cuba St.


Pay rate is $25.00 before tax per hour.


You must have a New Zealand IRD number.


I prefer people to work for me for at least 10 weeks due to the time it takes me to teach people how to assist me, but I am open to negotiation with the right person.


I am open to people of all ages but from experience people who are 24+ have just a little bit more life experience which can make both our jobs easier!


If you are interested, please send me a detailed message telling about yourself to


I Look forward to meeting you!


Jon :)


P.s. If you don't receive a reply within five days please check your spam folder