Facebook Twitter Google Plus
backpackerboard
Find backpacker jobs in New Zealand

Applications for this job are closed

To find alternative jobs please browse through our job listings

Au Pair / Family Help

Payment: Accommodation & Paid ($ 15-20)
Location: Warkworth
Region: Auckland
Experience: Experience Necessary
Contact: 021585304
Listing Added: 02/10/2017

We are a relaxed family of 4, me, my partner and our 2 easy going, well behaved girls, Isabella 8yrs and Alex 4yrs. We live rurally about 1hr north of Auckland in Kaipara Flats village, a 10min drive from the local town Warkworth. There are amazing beaches and walks, a very popular tourist destination. We operate a seasonal business delivering water. We need help from Dec - end Feb ideally, but if we have help over the 6wk school holidays mid Dec – end Jan 2018 then we would be happy. You will be responsible for routine childcare am and pm mainly, as the phone never stops ringing with bookings. I work from my home office and will be near to help if necessary. Some days will be busier than others. Alex is at kindy 3/4 days a wk, Isabella will have school. She will go to friends/family in holidays leaving plenty of periods of free time in the day. Weekends will mostly be your own, with some help needed on Sat mornings, just sometimes. We will provide your own room, all food, unlimited Wi-Fi, a laptop, internet TV and movies and use of the spa! There is no public transport to Warkworth, but there are daily buses from Warkworth into Auckland and some local suburbs, but for the best experience and independence your own car would be ideal.

  • Must have had some au pair/childcare experience and working references.

  • You MUST be able to drive confidently on NZ roads for kindy drop’s, food shopping etc... easy and local journeys. You would use my car if you don’t have your own, but not for personal use.

  • Must be able to cook a basic dinner approx. 2/3 a wk and if you have any special diets you will need to provide for this yourself.

  • Routine housework and some extra weekly cleaning will be expected.

  • Possibility of paid admin/data entry work for the right person (but this is optional).

  • We need someone with flexibility, confidence, and initiative to just ‘get on’ and see what’s needs doing without being asked all the time. We want you to treat the house as your own and feel comfortable.

    We expect this to come to about 20-25hrs a wk, sometimes less. Anything above this or extra specific jobs we can negotiate pay. I can likely get you local evening babysitting work with friends. If you are wanting to travel with a friend then it’s a possibility they could stay with another local host family, either way we can tee you up with their au pair or my teenage nieces and nephews would be happy to take you out for the night I’m sure! We are looking for help, but we also want you to have a great experience in NZ.