Facebook Twitter Google Plus
backpackerboard

Au Pair

Payment (NZD): $250 plus board and food
Location: Cambridge
Region: Waikato/Coromandel
Experience: Limited Experience Necessary

We are looking for help with our two wee boys for the last four months of this year (early September- mid December). We have previously enjoyed having backpackers and Woofers stay with us and we love sharing our house with different people. 

We live in the country on a small lifestyle block with a couple of horses, and usually have a litter of foster kittens as well as other stray animals. The town of Cambridge is 8 minutes away, and is known as the ‘home of trees and champions’; with many of New Zealand’s Olympic athletes living locally. Our home is a 15 minute drive away from Hamilton City, with all the shops, bars, cafés, cinemas you could wish for. Rotorua/Taupo/Raglan/the Mount are only an hour away, and Auckland is two hours away. You will have one of our cars to use as your own, and weekends and afternoons/evenings free in which to explore; walking, riding, cycling, surfing, visiting Hobbiton; there is loads to do if you are keen.

About us: 

I am typically a stay-at-home Mum, but before we had children, I specialised in training horse behaviour, and I will be returning to work to handle new-born foals for four months only (from September until just before Christmas). Phil works long hours in construction management. So, our two boys want to meet someone to help guide their play during the day. 

Toby and Ollie are 3 and 5 years old; they love being outside, baking cakes and making art/crafts. We spend most of our days in activity together, they typically engage in whatever we are doing, whether it be working around the property, visiting the horses, or painting outdoor furniture. We consciously parent in a relaxed, respectful way, allowing each boy the opportunity to learn for themselves, and respecting their natures and need to figure things out. We spend a lot of time in nature and in activity, and zero time in front of a screen; there is enough time for us to do that once the boys are in bed! Our parenting is a work in progress, but we are loving the journey – and learning loads.

Both boys spend time at kindergarten, and otherwise we spend time at home and pop into town for activities – library, gym classes, a walk in the park. We will introduce you to other people so you and our boys can visit them or meet at one of our many fabulous local cafes for fluffies and brownies (our favourite!).

You will have a spacious, private room, unlimited Wifi use and your own bathroom with a huge bathtub. You will have one of our cars to use as your own to explore. We eat healthy, hearty food, and are happy to accommodate any special dietary preferences you have. There is always copious amounts of chocolate in our fridge!

Expectations: 

We will need your help for around 40hrs each week, with weekends free for you to explore. You will need to feel confident (and be competent) to drive with our precious children in the car, but you can spend a couple of weeks settling in before you will need to take any sole responsibility for the boys or drive with them. 

We are a warm, loving family, and are very relaxed, with no drama or conflict (apart from the inevitable guidance required to help these juvenile humans grow and learn their place in the world). We want to find someone that will have fun with us and become a true family member. 

Ideally, we would like to welcome into our family someone who enjoys being outside, an animal lover with a warm heart and a genuine fondness for children. Although looking after children is a huge responsibility and hard work, we are passionate about helping our boys grow to become their best selves, and look forward to sharing our relaxed, open-minded way of parenting and lifestyle with you.

Apply for this Job

To apply for this job please complete this form.

 

Name:
Email:
Confirm Email:
Work Visa Details:
 

Please give information about yourself and why you would be good at this job. Also give details of your visa, time in New Zealand and other related jobs you have undertaken.

Message to Employer:
 

PLEASE NOTE: CV's in english only (max file size 2mb)
We only accept gifs, jpg ,png, pdf, rtf, doc,odt & docx files

Add an Attachment
  Email me an application confirmation
  I agree to the terms & conditions of use
 

numpic

Enter the numbers from the image above: