Facebook Twitter Google Plus
backpackerboard
find jobs while travelling

Support Person Required - Central Wellington

Payment: Paid Position ($20 per hr before tax)
Location: Wellington CBD
Region: Wellington
Experience: No Experience Necessary

Hi
 
I am 45, work full time as a senior IT specialist and I'm told that I have a great sense of humour.
 
I have a disability, cerebral palsy, and because of this I need the assistance of Open minded, Intelligent & Caring people to assist me with my day to day business of Living Life, working, doing my share around the house, going out, socialising & chilling at home.
 
PERSONAL CARE REQUIRED - Assisting me in the toilet, shower, dressing etc - all not difficult and nothing that you would not do for yourself during the day - but an essential part of the job.
 
No experience necessary. You do not need any special skills/training - merely a willingness to listen and try your best.
 
Other aspects of the job include assisting me with housework, household administration, shopping and generally ensuring that things run smoothly.
 
The work is organised in shifts:

Mon - Fri:
7 - 10am
12 - 2pm
330 - 345pm (paid half an hour)
530pm - I'm set up for the night (earliest finish after 11pm)

Sat:
11am - 4pm
530pm - I'm set up for the night (earliest finish after 11pm)

Sun:
11am-4pm
530 - I'm set up for the night (earliest finish after 11pm)

Due to personal requirements shift start times are not often flexible but the number of shifts you do is absolutely flexible -  these can fit around classes, other jobs, etc.
 
These shifts are organised based on my limited support funding and my personal needs. Not included in the above are extra shifts that I may need to do in a week - socialising, shopping, etc.
 
Travellers who are here only a short time are very welcome as are locals who may want a more permanent job.

I generally employ 3 or 4 people at any one time depending on how much people want to work as well as how well we get on.

    I work out the weekly roster every Sunday - so there is some flexibility from week to week.

    There is no driving required and I live in Mount Cook - very close to Cuba St.
     
    Pay rate is $20.00 before tax per hour. There is the potential for pay increase depending on perfermance reviews every 3 months

    You must have a New Zealand IRD number.I need people to work for me for at least 10 weeks due to the time it takes me to teach people how to assist me. I am open to people of all ages but from experience people who are 24+ have just a little bit more life experience which can make both our jobs easier!
     
    If you are interested please send me a detailed message telling about yourself.
     
    Look forward to meeting you!
     
    Jon :)

      Apply for this Job

      To apply for this job please complete this form.

       

      Name:
      Email:
      Confirm Email:
      Work Visa Details:
       

      Please give information about yourself and why you would be good at this job. Also give details of your visa, time in New Zealand and other related jobs you have undertaken.

      Message to Employer:
       

      PLEASE NOTE: CV's in english only (max file size 2mb)
      We only accept gifs, jpg ,png, pdf, rtf, doc,odt & docx files

      Add an Attachment
        Email me an application confirmation
        I agree to the terms & conditions of use
       

      numpic

      Enter the numbers from the image above: