French Au Pair, Family Helper

apply now
Payment: $ Location: Mapua
Region: Nelson/Abel Tasman/Golden Bay Experience: No Experience Necessary

We are looking for a native French speaker to give us some help around the house – mainly child care, and occasionally some cleaning and gardening.  

We have 3 daughters (2, 4 and 6). The helper would be spending some time with the youngest while mum works (sometimes at home, other times away) and sometimes entertaining all the children afterschool. The oldest is learning French and we would like a French speaker to help encourage her French.

We live on a beautiful lifestyle block in Ruby Bay with a small dog, cows, geese and chickens.  

The helper would be staying in our large caravan, with access to the family bathroom. Depending on dates, there is a chance we might want to take the caravan away for a weekend – in which case it might be possible for you to join us or take the time to explore the region.

Breakfast and dinner provided and you can help yourself to lunch. We're happy to cater to vegetarians. Wifi available.    

We would expect roughly 4 hours work per day in exchange for food and accommodation, however, this would be flexible – somedays it might be morning, sometimes afternoon. It would also be possible for some days to be 8 hours, giving you a whole day off another day. Additional paid hours may be possible. 

We would like someone from November – mid December, min 3 weeks.

We're about 5 mins drive to Mapua, 15 mins to Motueka and 20 mins to Richmond. Ideally you would have your own vehicle to explore the area. Mapua is about a 20 minute bike ride, and Motueka is 1 hour+